Greatness STEMs from Active Working Groups and Programs

Greatness STEMs from Active Working Groups and Programs

The most pressing challenges facing STEM education in the state of Iowa requires attention and dedication. The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council identifies specific areas to increase and enhance STEM in the lives of young Iowans. The particular areas of focus are researched and then offered to the STEM Council as areas of further exploration in advancing STEM. The various active working groups and current programs incorporate all facets of STEM and evolve as Iowa STEM progresses.

If you would like to make a suggestion or contribute to any of these groups, please contact us.

Current Active Working Groups

Broadband for Iowa, chaired by John Carver
Community College STEM Network, chaired by Jeff Weld
Four-Year College STEM Network, chaired by Jeff Weld
Iowa STEM Conference Planning, chaired by Jeff Weld
STEM Active Learning Community Partners, chaired by Deb Dunkhase
STEM BEST Selection and Guidance, chaired by Kristine Bullock
STEM Business Engagement, chaired by Carrie Rankin
STEM Communications, co-chaired by Angel Mendez and Courtney Shaw
STEM Engagement of School Counselors, co-chaired by Rob Denson and Bill Ruud
STEM Equity, chaired by Paul Gibbins
STEM Scale-Up Planning, chaired by Sarah Derry
STEM Seal of Approval, chaired by Jordan Lampe
STEM Support of Ag. Science, chaired by Rachel Hurley
STEM Support of Arts and Culture, co-chaired by David Barajas, Tim Bower, and Steve Triplett
STEM Support of Computer Science, co-chaired by Mark Gruwell and Ann Watts
STEM Volunteer Service, chaired by Jeff Beneke
STEM Youth Advisory Board, chaired by Kwizera Imani

Current Programs

Microsoft IT Academy
STEM Scale-Up Program
STEM Teacher Externships
I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award
Code Iowa
STEM Endorsement
STEM Redesigned Learning Environments (RLE)
STEM Festivals
STEM Businesses Engaging Students and Teachers (BEST)
STEM Program Evaluation