Congratulations to the 2018 I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award Recipients

I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award recipients

During the STEM Day at the Capitol program on February 14, the 2018 I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award recipients were recognized. In her remarks Libby Nelson, vice president and general counsel at Kemin Industries, expressed how proud Kemin Industries is to have sponsored the I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award for the past four years, honoring 24 incredible teachers in the award’s lifetime.

This award honors one teacher in each of the six STEM regions of the state whose leadership and dedication to STEM in Iowa increases students' interest and awareness in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. These teacher awardees are I nnovative in their methods, Outstanding in their passion for education, W orldly in the way they help students see that STEM is all around them and A cademic through engaging students in the classroom to prepare them for post-secondary education and high-demand careers. Eligible nominees include licensed, full-time, K-12 Iowa STEM teachers in public or non-public schools.

The 2018 I.O.W.A. STEM Teaching Award recipients include:

  • Jacquie Drey – 4th grade teacher at Storm Lake Elementary School in Storm Lake (Northwest Region)
  • Teresa Green – K-5 technology teacher librarian at Edwards Elementary School in Ames (North Central Region)
  • Denise Hoag – computer science/business teacher at Thomas Jefferson High School in Council Bluffs (Southwest Region)
  • Cassidy Reinken – magnet coordinator at Johnson STEAM Academy in Cedar Rapids (Southeast Region)
  • Dr. Holly Showalter – medical and bioscience research instructor at Waukee APEX in Waukee (South Central Region)
  • Stacey Snyder – Expanded Learner Program and Gifted Resource teacher at Orange Elementary School in Waterloo (Northeast Region)

During the I.O.W.A. STEM Teacher Award application process, each teacher is nominated by a school administrator, fellow teacher, student or parent. The nominees are, then, asked to complete an application. All applications are reviewed by a panel of external judges.

Through Kemin Industries’ generous support, each awardee is presented with $3,000 -- $1,500 for the educator’s use and another $1,500 to be used in their classroom. Each of this year’s recipients were also honored during a ceremony at their school with students, peers, administrators and business partners present. During the lifetime of this award, there has been more than 600 nominations for deserving teachers from all corners of the state.

To Top