South Central Iowa STEM Region

Iowa STEM Map - South Central Iowa STEM Region

The South Central Iowa STEM Region is a collaborative effort with Drake University. The South Central Region is able to use the strengths from the institution to help expand STEM into the communities served in South Central Iowa.

Drake University

B4 School of Education
Office Telephone: 515-271-2403
South Central Iowa STEM website:

The Regional Manager, Sarah Derry, Drake University and the South Central Iowa’s Advisory Board collaborate to identify, grow and create STEM programs that strengthen the South Central STEM region.

South Central Iowa's Advisory Board Members:

  • Bridgette Andrews – (Johnston, IA)
  • Creighton Cox – Olssen Associates Engineering (Urbandale, IA)
  • Katrina Cummings – Simpson College (Indianola, IA)
  • Carla Eysink – Marion County Economic Development (Knoxville, IA)
  • Sherry Ford – ISU Extension and Outreach (Malvern, IA)
  • Nadilia Gomez – DuPont Pioneer (Ankeny, IA)
  • Kari Hensen – Des Moines Area Community College (Ankeny, IA)
  • Jonathon Holmen – McGough Construction (Ankeny, IA)
  • Ronda McCarthy – St. Theresa’s School Teacher (Des Moines, IA)
  • Alison Mohr – Carlisle School District (Altoona, IA)
  • Joe Murphy – Iowa Business Council (West Des Moines, IA)
  • Amber Pargmann – John Deere (Ottumwa, IA)
  • Marshall Payne – Qualmar Technology Group (Urbandale, IA)
  • Jennifer Williams – Iowa National Guard (Des Moines, IA)
  • Laura Williams – Greater Prairie AEA (Mt. Pleasant, Iowa)
Iowa STEM - South Central Iowa STEM Region - Region Manager Sarah Derry

About Sarah Derry, Ph.D.

Dr. Sarah Derry is the South Central Regional STEM Manager for the Governor's STEM Advisory Council and located at Drake University. Sarah earned a Bachelor of Science in Genetics from Iowa State University and a Ph.D. in Developmental Biology from the University of Iowa. She has conducted research in commercial and academic laboratories. Sarah started her career as a science teacher in a low-income, urban high school.